Contractor License from Montana to Idaho: Does It Transfer? (2026)
Last verified: 2026-09-01 · source: Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) — Electrical and Plumbing Boards ↗
A contractor license transfers from Montana to Idaho by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) — Electrical and Plumbing Boards, verify your Montana license, and meet Idaho's endorsement requirements. Idaho (DOPL) reciprocates the journeyman ELECTRICAL license of 12 states if the applicant tested for the current license, held it at least one year, and shows 4 years of schooling plus OJT (Wyoming also master). Journeyman PLUMBING reciprocity is limited to Montana, Oregon, and Washington. HVAC has no reciprocity, and general contractors only register (no exam, no reciprocity)..
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
Idaho does not have a trade agreement covering Montana for the selected trade, so this move runs on Idaho's case-by-case endorsement process. If you do commercial general-building work, check whether Idaho accepts the NASCLA exam — passing it once can replace the trade exam here and in about fourteen other states. Electricians should check Idaho's NERA status.
What changes, Montana → Idaho
| Montana (current) | Idaho (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $190–$210 (The range covers the electrical reciprocity/endorsement pathway this row models. Montana State Electrical Board application fees, identical whether the applicant qualifies by substantial equivalency (reciprocity/endorsement) or by examination: Journeyman Electrician $190, Master Electrician $190, Electrical Contractor $210. A $50 temporary work permit for exam candidates is charged in addition to the application fee. Outside this range and not part of the electrical pathway: the DLI Construction Contractor Registration ($70, non-refundable, valid two years) is a workers'-comp registration for general contractors - not a trade licence and not a reciprocity route - as is the $125 Independent Contractor Exemption Certificate; testing-vendor exam fees and workers' compensation coverage are also separate. The Electrical Board's licence pages state that its fees are non-refundable; the DLI registration application states the same for the $70 fee.) | DOPL reciprocal/initial application fee not verified; site was unreachable on 2026-07-21 and archived FAQs list only a $65 renewal fee. Verify current fee schedule with DOPL. |
| Processing time | Not published. | Not stated on official pages. |
| Licensing authority | Montana State Electrical Board (DLI Business Standards Division); Construction Contractor Registration (DLI Employment Relations Division) | Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) — Electrical and Plumbing Boards |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Idaho sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm Idaho's current requirements on the Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) — Electrical and Plumbing Boards website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) — Electrical and Plumbing Boards (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Have tested for and held the current out-of-state journeyman license for at least one year (electrical).
- Provide proof of 4 years of schooling and on-the-job training.
- Submit proof of licensure and good standing from the reciprocal state.
- Plumbing reciprocity conditions vary: Montana license held 1 year, Oregon held 6 months, Washington current-resident requirement.
- Pay the fees (DOPL reciprocal/initial application fee not verified; site was unreachable on 2026-07-21 and archived FAQs list only a $65 renewal fee. Verify current fee schedule with DOPL.) and allow Not stated on official pages..
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does Idaho accept a Montana contractor license?
A contractor license transfers from Montana to Idaho by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) — Electrical and Plumbing Boards, verify your Montana license, and meet Idaho's endorsement requirements. Idaho (DOPL) reciprocates the journeyman ELECTRICAL license of 12 states if the applicant tested for the current license, held it at least one year, and shows 4 years of schooling plus OJT (Wyoming also master). Journeyman PLUMBING reciprocity is limited to Montana, Oregon, and Washington. HVAC has no reciprocity, and general contractors only register (no exam, no reciprocity)..
What still applies even if reciprocity covers my trade?
Idaho's business and law exam, financial statement, bond, and registration — reciprocity waives the trade exam only, not these.
What does the Montana-to-Idaho move cost and how long does it take?
DOPL reciprocal/initial application fee not verified; site was unreachable on 2026-07-21 and archived FAQs list only a $65 renewal fee. Verify current fee schedule with DOPL.; processing Not stated on official pages..
Would the NASCLA exam help for this move?
If you do commercial general-building work, possibly — about 15 states accept the NASCLA Accredited Commercial General Building exam toward licensure. Check whether Idaho is one on the Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) — Electrical and Plumbing Boards site.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-01.
- Idaho DOPL — Electrical Program FAQs (reciprocal agreements) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Idaho DOPL — Licenses That Idaho Will Reciprocate (Electrical & Plumbing) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Idaho DOPL — HVAC Program FAQs (no reciprocity) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Montana State Electrical Board - License Information ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Montana DLI ERD - Construction/Independent Contractor Registration ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Montana State Electrical Board - Electrical Contractor licensing requirements and application checklist ($210 application fee) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-01)
- Montana State Electrical Board - Master Electrician checklist ($190 application fee, substantial equivalency or examination) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-01)
- Montana DLI ERD - Application for Construction Contractor Registration ($70 non-refundable, valid two years) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-01)
- Montana DLI ERD - Independent Contractor Exemption Certificate application ($125 non-refundable) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-01)
- Montana State Electrical Board - Journeyman Electrician application checklist ($190 application fee, substantial equivalency or examination; $50 temporary work permit) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-01)
- Montana State Electrical Board - Journeyman Electrician licence page ("ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE") ↗ (accessed 2026-09-01)
- Montana State Electrical Board - Electrical Contractor licence page ("Fees:(Non-refundable)") ↗ (accessed 2026-09-01)
Reviewed by Billy Reiner, Editor · verified against primary sources 2026-09-01
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]